Home » Time zones in the Pacific

Time zones in the Pacific

The Pacific Ocean is the largest and deepest ocean on Earth, covering an area of about 63.8 million square miles. It is divided into a number of different time zones, which are determined by the longitude of a particular region. Some of the major time zones in the Pacific are:

  • UTC-11:00: This time zone is observed in the central Pacific, including American Samoa, Baker Island, and Howland Island.
  • UTC-10:00: This time zone is observed in the eastern Pacific, including Hawaii and the Johnston Atoll.
  • UTC+12:00: This time zone is observed in the western Pacific, including the Marshall Islands and the Federated States of Micronesia.
  • UTC+13:00: This time zone is observed in the western Pacific, including Kiribati and the Phoenix Islands.

Note that many countries in the Pacific region observe Daylight Saving Time (DST), which temporarily shifts the standard time in a region by one hour during certain parts of the year. This is done to make better use of sunlight during the longer days of summer. Some Pacific countries that observe DST include New Zealand, Fiji, and Tonga.

The Pacific Ocean is home to many small islands and territories, many of which have their own time zones. These time zones are often based on the time zone of the nearest major landmass, but they can also be influenced by other factors, such as the time zone of the country that administers the territory.

Move your cursor above that Pacific area you want to see the current time for and click to view the time zone and your actual time details.


Scroll with your mouse to zoom, or use the zoom buttons on the left side of the map. For Google Street View, pull that small yellow man from the left side on the Pacific map.

The following table lists the Pacifican time zone abbreviations.

Abbreviation Full name Other abbreviations Timezone
NZDT New Zealand Daylight Time   UTC + 13 hours
NZST New Zealand Standard Time   UTC + 12 hours
CHADT Chatham Island Daylight Time   UTC + 13:45 hours
CHAST Chatham Island Standard Time   UTC + 12:45 hours
FJST Fiji Summer Time   UTC + 13 hours
FJT Fiji Time   UTC + 12 hours
WST West Samoa Time   UTC + 13 hours
EASST Easter Island Summer Time   UTC – 5 hours
EAST Easter Island Standard Time   UTC – 6 hours
ChST Chamorro Standard Time   UTC + 10 hours
PGT Papua New Guinea Time   UTC + 10 hours
TVT Tuvalu Time   UTC + 12 hours
SBT Solomon IslandsTime   UTC + 11 hours
LINT Line Islands Time   UTC + 14 hours
PONT Pohnpei Standard Time   UTC + 11 hours
TAHT Tahiti Time   UTC – 10 hours
CKT Cook Island Time   UTC – 10 hours
VUT Vanuatu Time   UTC + 11 hours
GILT Gilbert Island Time   UTC + 12 hours
PHOT Phoenix Island Time   UTC + 13 hours
MHT Marshall Islands Time   UTC + 12 hours
NCT New Caledonia Time   UTC + 11 hours
NUT Niue Time   UTC – 11 hours
PWT Palau Time   UTC + 9 hours
TKT Tokelau Time   UTC + 13 hours
WFT Wallis and Futuna Time   UTC + 12 hours
PST Pitcairn Standard Time   UTC – 8 hours
GALT Galapagos Time   UTC – 6 hours
MART Marquesas Time   UTC – 9:30 hours
GAMT Gambier Time   UTC – 9 hours
SST Samoa Standard Time   UTC – 11 hours
YAPT Yap Time   UTC + 10 hours
EDT Eastern Daylight Time   UTC + 11 hours

Time zones in other regions