Home » Time zones in Africa

Time zones in Africa

Africa is divided into several different time zones, determined by the longitude of a particular region. The time zones in Africa are as follows:

  • UTC+01:00: This time zone is observed in countries in Western and Northern Africa, including Algeria, Morocco, and Tunisia.
  • UTC+02:00: This time zone is observed in countries in Eastern and Southern Africa, including Ethiopia, Kenya, and Tanzania.
  • UTC+03:00: This time zone is observed in countries in Eastern Africa, including Djibouti and Somalia.

Many African countries observe Daylight Saving Time (DST), which temporarily shifts the standard time in a region by one hour during certain parts of the year. This is done better by using sunlight during the longer days of summer. Some African countries that observe DST include South Africa, Egypt, and Libya.

Move your cursor above that African area you want to see the current time for and click to view the time zone and your actual time details.


Scroll with your mouse to zoom, or use the zoom buttons on the left side of the map. For Google Street View, pull that small yellow man from the left side on the Africa map.

Time zones in Africa

The following table lists the African time zone abbreviations.

Abbreviation Full name Other abbreviations Timezone
CAT Central Africa Time   UTC + 2 hours
CET Central European Time MEZ UTC + 1 hour
CVT Cape Verde Time   UTC – 1 hour
EAT Eastern Africa Time   UTC + 3 hours
EEST Eastern European Summer Time   UTC + 3 hours
EET Eastern European Time   UTC + 2 hours
GMT Greenwich Mean Time   UTC
MUT Mauritius Time   UTC + 4 hours
RET Reunion Time   UTC + 4 hours
SAST South Africa Standard Time   UTC + 2 hours
SCT Seychelles Time   UTC + 4 hours
WAST West Africa Summer Time   UTC + 2 hours
WAT West Africa Time   UTC + 1 hour
WEST Western European Summer Time WESZ UTC + 1 hour
WET Western European Time   UTC
WST Western Sahara Summer Time   UTC + 1 hour
WT Western Sahara Standard Time   UTC

Time zones in other regions