Home » Time zones in the Indian Ocean

Time zones in the Indian Ocean

The Indian Ocean is a large body of water located to the south of Asia and the west of Australia. It is divided into a number of different time zones, determined by the longitude of a particular region. Some of the major time zones in the Indian Ocean are:

  • UTC+03:00: This time zone is observed in the eastern Indian Ocean, including the Comoros and Madagascar.
  • UTC+04:00: This time zone is observed in the central Indian Ocean, including the Seychelles and Mauritius.
  • UTC+05:00: This time zone is observed in the western Indian Ocean, including the Maldives and the Chagos Archipelago.

Many countries in the Indian Ocean region observe Daylight Saving Time (DST), which temporarily shifts the standard time in a region by one hour during certain parts of the year. This is done to better use sunlight during the longer days of summer. Some Indian Ocean countries that observe DST include Australia and Oman.

The Indian Ocean is home to many small islands and territories, many of which have their time zones. These time zones are often based on the time zone of the nearest major landmass, but they can also be influenced by other factors, such as the time zone of the country that administers the territory.

Move your cursor above that Indian Ocean area you want to see the current time for and click to view the time zone and your actual time details.


Scroll with your mouse to zoom, or use the zoom buttons on the left side of the map. For Google Street View, pull that small yellow man from the left side on the Indian Ocean area map.

The following table lists the Indian Ocean time zone abbreviations.

Abbreviation Full name Other abbreviations Timezone
CCT Cocos Islands Time   UTC + 6:30 hours
EAT East Africa Time   UTC + 3 hours
IOT Indian Chagos Time   UTC + 6 hours
TFT French Southern and Antarctic Time   UTC + 5 hours

Time zones in other regions