Home » Time zones in Australia

Time zones in Australia

Australia is divided into three time zones:

  • Australian Western Standard Time (AWST): This time zone is observed in Western Australia and is 8 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC+08:00).
  • Australian Central Standard Time (ACST): This time zone is observed in South Australia, the Northern Territory, and the town of Broken Hill in New South Wales. It is 9.5 hours ahead of UTC (UTC+09:30).
  • Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST): This time zone is observed in Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, and the Australian Capital Territory. It is 10 hours ahead of UTC (UTC+10:00).

Australia is one of the few countries worldwide that does not observe Daylight Saving Time (DST). However, some states and territories in Australia have considered introducing DST in the past. Still, it has generally been rejected due to the negative impact it would have on the agricultural sector and other industries.

Australia is located in the southern hemisphere, so the seasons are opposite to those in the northern hemisphere. This means that when it is winter in the northern hemisphere, it is summer in Australia, and vice versa. As a result, the length of the day and the amount of sunlight varies significantly throughout the year in Australia.

Move your cursor above that Australian area you want to see the current time for and click to view the time zone and your actual time details.


Scroll with your mouse to zoom, or use the zoom buttons on the left side of the map. For Google Street View, pull that small yellow man from the left side on the Australia map.

The following table lists the Australian time zone abbreviations.

Abbreviation Full name Other abbreviations Timezone
NFT Norfolk (Island) Time UTC + 11:30 hours
EST Eastern Standard Time AEST UTC + 10 hours
EDT Eastern Daylight Time AEDT, EST UTC + 11 hours
CST Central Standard Time ACST UTC + 9:30 hours
CDT Central Daylight Time ACDT, CST UTC + 10:30 hours
WST Western Standard Time AWST UTC + 8 hours
WDT Western Daylight Time AWDT, WST UTC + 9 hours
CXT Christmas Island Time   UTC + 7 hours

Time zones in other regions